Quilting Techniques

Half Square Triangles

Half-square triangles, called HSTs, are a common unit in many quilt blocks.  I have been creating lots of HSTs as I make the flying geese units in the Allietare quilt (Bonnie Hunter’s Winter Mystery 2015).

  I sew these “bonus triangles,” to use Bonnie’s term, in two different ways.

A seam along the hypotenuse/long edge will create HSTs, shown on the left below.

If you sew along a short edge, as pictured on the right above, you can make quarter-square triangles, which I put together in Broken Dishes units.

I have shoe boxes for the different types of triangles:

Someday I will make a scrappy quilt with these units. I really like the way Bonnie has used HSTs in Clue 5 of Allietare, so I am planning a scrappy version of this too. 
In fact, Jeni Baker of In Color Order has written a whole book devoted to HSTs.  Vicki Welsh of Field Trips in Fiber compiled many HST layouts as she was planning a project a while back.  They are extremely versatile and you can create so many different looks!

What is your favorite HST block?

Happy Quilting from Andi

2 thoughts on “Half Square Triangles

Leave a Reply

