Epic Project

Epic Project – 92 Stars

I love to make meaningful quilts…choosing a block pattern that represents a significant event and selecting special colors that invoke certain memories.

My 25th college reunion is on the horizon, which calls for a commemorative quilt.  I graduated from the US Air Force Academy, where each class is assigned a color.  Lucky me, my class is True Blue 92 so I get to play with my favorite color!

I decided to make 92 star blocks for my college quilt.  I wanted a manageable size block, so I pored over the selections at Quilter’s Cache, a fabulous archive of patterns.  I decided on 9-inch blocks, since a 10×10 layout would be a 100″ square quilt.  92 does NOT play nicely for a quilt layout, LOL.   I thought about making 88 stars, which turned into 44 pairs, leaving 4 corner blocks of one design.  That could work as an 10×11 layout.blue plan

This is my current plan.  I am still making 88 9-inch stars, but instead of the 4 corner blocks, I will make 4 small stars and pair them with some signature blocks in the middle which will say “USAFA – Class of 1992.”

I have been working on blocks occasionally.  Here my current progress:image

Definitely a long way to go!  I’m glad I have another year and a half to work on this!  I am trying to use different blues in every block.  I need to mix in more with dark backgrounds.

Here is my list of blocks, again many thanks to Marcia at Quilter’s Cache for her wonderful patterns!image

And the two blocks I finished this week, Sharon’s Star:

I am using #TrueBlue92 #starblocks #scrappyquilting when I share finishes on Instagram.  Take a look!

This epic project in my favorite color helps me Enjoy, Experiment and Excel as I quilt.  What are you working on today?

Happy Quilting from Andi

Leave a Reply

